Ackee, Saltfish, Fried Breadfruit and Change

There are some things you never want to change. One of those things for me is a good plate of Ackee and Saltfish with Fried Breadfruit. The starchy, slightly sweet, crunch of the breadfruit, the buttery ackee and well-seasoned saltfish. Trust me, it’s enough to make any Jamaican happy.

[Insert internet picture here because I was too hungry and anxious to take a picture of my own plate:

Fotor070816401]

In other cases, though, change is inevitable.

I graduated from Kalamazoo College with a B.A. in Biology a little over three weeks ago.  Of course, graduation is actually spelled C H A N G E.

I am still in the process of figuring out my next step, and I am getting impatient. It’s a strange combination of being anxious for change yet wary, because goodness only knows if that change will mean something good or bad for you.

My family was here for my graduation. They made sure to bring some Jamaican snacks, and that roasted breadfruit, ackee, and saltfish – all frozen – that they know I love and hadn’t tasted in a very long time. Now, I’m craving more. But that’s gone, along with four years of undergrad. Don’t get me wrong, I’m happy that this stage of my life is over – classes are not something I miss. Yet, I realize that sometimes, being so busy studying and working, preparing for graduation, I forgot to own my life and to actually live it.

I didn’t just come to Kalamazoo College for an education; I didn’t just walk across that stage a few weeks ago with evidence of four years of knowledge in Biology. This was my life. I grew up here. I changed here, and now I’m on the cusp of change again.

Thank God that I learned as much as I did, that my family will always be there, and that I can try to find a good plate of Ackee and Saltfish wherever this change takes me.

Leave a Reply

